A Year in Review

 

So, on 12 December 2015, my 2 year blogging anniversary came and went without as much as a whimper.  2015 has not been a good year for me, as far a gaming goes.  Ever since the ending of the “Giants in the Earth,” my attempts at running a campaign have gone poorly.

My “Shadowfell Road” campaign died a malingering death of extended inaction.  My “Pellham” campaign (with all the great modules that I combined) couldn’t continue, due to my players’ extra-game commitments.  My Zentlan campaign is not dead, but it stuck on an extended hiatus…I have hope that after the holidays that it will be back.  My blogging has been spotty, at best.  I haven’t finished the corrections for my StatBonus.com submission.  I haven’t completed my review of Morgan Newquist’s story, The Blacksmith and the Ice Elves.  All in all, I haven’t gotten my game back.  Even my fiction writing has suffered.  All of this has been pinned on the backdrop of my friend Ed’s death.  He did not win his fight with cancer, but left this world with his pride and dignity intact.

I miss gaming.  I miss my friends, both those living and those beyond.  I miss my creative spark and I want better things to come.  With only five days left till Christmas, followed by a trip to visit family and friends in Mississippi, it is unlikely that I will post on my blog again this year.  I just wish I could feel better about this post and be more positive in this missive to my readers.  Alas, I cannot.  May the year’s end find you, my readers in better light.

I am struggling, but I haven’t given up.  Please dear readers and friends, Game On, until we meet again.

 

4 thoughts on “A Year in Review

  1. Heya, keep your chin up – and post what you can. Even though I’m horribly, horribly behind on game logs I’ve been trying to keep in the habit of blogging about my game through a couple of different ways. Talking about Traveller, Call of Cthulhu, and the odd update of non-session log material.

    Talk about old games, talk about cool ideas, take the time to convert all those bits and bobs of stuff over to 5E (or whatever) that you haven’t yet. Write up and post the stats and descriptions of your favorite NPC’s – or build a hall of fame for old player characters!

    I think the problem is when we get to focused on what we “should” be blogging about and instead just blog about whatever gaming issue we’re actually dealing with this week or month or year.

    Take care and have a good holiday, I look forward to seeing what you post in the new year!

    D.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment