Player’s Handbook Release Day (or I Forgot to Remember to do This Yesterday)

So, to follow my Basic Rules PDF release post, I am again a day behind in letting the world know that I am excited about 5E and the Player’s Handbook release.  My wife ordered me a copy from Amazon last night and I should have it in 3 to 5 business days.  What will I do until then? (link 2014.08.23)

I’ll search the web for reviews and look through all the excerpts released by WotC.  Check out DMing With Charisma‘s review.  Found a review of the art in the PHB 5E by Raging Owlbear. (2014.08.22)

I am old enough and jaded enough to not let my hopes get too high.  I feel certain that for about every seven things I like about this game, there will be one thing that I don’t like (Alignment, I’m looking at you.) and that is okay.  There is no Holy Grail of Gaming or One True Way.  Every GM and every gaming group will have their own house rules; they will, hopefully, drop things that lessen their fun and add things that increase their fun.  Only those in tournament play and sanctioned game events won’t have any house rules, because everybody those events has too be on the same page and that’s okay, too.

I remember the fun I had looking through my first PHB. Wondering what was going to happen to thieves when they plucked the gemstone out of the idol on the cover.  Reading the spells.  Examining the art.  Learning what made every class unique.  My 2E PHB was not as exciting for me.  I was having a real grognard moment over the changes in the spells, I loved the art.  Even today, I can go back and flip through the book and relish the art.  I don’t have any memories about the 3E and 4E PHBs.  Not sure what that says about me and those editions, but I am excited and looking forward to opening my new Player’s Handbook and finding out what memories stick with this one.

My copy of the D&D Player’s Handbook has arrived!  Yay! (2014.08.23)

Until we meet again, Game On!

6 thoughts on “Player’s Handbook Release Day (or I Forgot to Remember to do This Yesterday)

  1. I got mine a week and a half ago from a FLGS, and I really like it. I would say my memory from the AD&D phb was looking at the paladin in hell picture and thinking I want to be that guy

    Liked by 1 person

      • I did play them back then (guess it was my first instance of power gaming) funny how I always seemed to meet the pre-requisites. I even played a couple in 4th edition. I liked the loosening of alignment restrictions, my favourite was playing a paladin of Tempus

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “Wondering what was going to happen to thieves when they plucked the gemstone out of the idol on the cover.”

    How many adventures must that one picture have inspired!

    Liked by 1 person

    • How many, indeed. I saw Chris Perkins take on it with Acquisitions, Inc. at Pax one year. That was fun. I figured the answer to what happened was on the cover of the DMG.

      Like

Leave a Reply

