Two Score Years Ago…

Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson brought forth a new way to play make-believe.  It was called Dungeons and Dragons!

Jon Peterson says that the best guess for the release of Dungeon and Dragons is late January and the last Sunday in January 2014 is the day we can celebrate the 40th anniversary of the release of D&D.  So, I did.  I celebrated the same way I do approximately every 2 weeks; I invited family and friends into my home to play D&D.  My Saturday group (Tasque Elzeny) consists of Christina (my wife), Spencer (my brother-in-law) and Clint (Spencer’s eldest child).  We are playing DnD Next.  My Sunday group (E3 Trading Company) holds my wife, Christina, and friends: James, Hil, and Matt; we are near the end of my Big 4E campaign: Giants in the Earth!  And now, I present to you my view of D&D:

Image

Tasque Elzeny

Image

E3 Trading Company

Yes, I still use my 1st Edition DM Screens.

I encountered out a few other people’s experiences with D&D.  Feel free to check out what Monte Cook, Mary Hamilton, Kobold Press, and RPG Geek have to say on the subject.  Like many people on the net, I, too, have gained great friendships through D&D.  I got to introduce friends to D&D.  My first days in D&D were, of course, among friends.  Without friends and players, I could not run a game, but that is not the best thing I get out of D&D.

I get to create.  I get to build.  I get to be every non PC in the multiverse.  I get to share in an interactive story crafted between my players and me.  I get to mess with maps.  I get to drop challenges into my games and watch amazing people completely bypass them by thinking of things of which I never conceived.  I get to play with languages.  I get to have fun.

Thank you, each and everyone on my players, past, present, and future.

Cross posting this on my Live Journal.

6 thoughts on “Two Score Years Ago…

    • I was right there with you, Void RPG Admin, until I caught a random post on Facebook news feed. Hard to believe that the year I turned 9, my favorite hobby was just being born. Without that beginning, You and I couldn’t be doing the fun stuff we do today. Love seeing your work on the Void RPG. Game On!

      Like

      • Thanks, Gregory. I started playing DnD when I was a bit older than 9, but it has definitely shaped me into the man I am today. What was that saying? Everything I learned about life, I learned from DnD. Haha.

        Like

        • Just to clarify, I didn’t get into D&D until I was 15 and I, too, learned about life through D&D.

          Always check for traps
          Listen at doors, before entering into new rooms
          Never let your thief be your accountant
          If life is unfair, then your DM is probably being a jerk 😉

          Like

  1. Pingback: Catching Up | World Engineer

Leave a Reply

