Game Masters Part 2

Last post, I talked about many of the Game Masters that I have interacted with over the years.  James Burkett reminded me that I forgot a few GMs from my past.  I’d like to correct that oversight.

  • Charles Chen – Another friend from Emory days, Charles ran an amazing Shadowrun game.  It was full of magic, angst, and betrayal.  The characters James and I played always seemed to be at odds with each other in Charles games.  I recall many sessions that ended in lots of explosions, usually set by runners against other members of our own crew.
  • Brandon Mokofisi – Brandon and I met when were both working at DragonScroll.com (He is now doing lead vocals in Urban Tattoo; Check them Out.).  Brandon runs the best tactical game of anyone I know.  He can optimize any class to its maximum usefulness.  His games require quick thinking, strong combat skills, and a strategic mind set.
  • Heather Miller – Heather comes from the same gaming group, as Derek Johnson, Ray Boone, and Ronnie Cooley.  She liked to run Call of Cuthuhu games with lots of puzzles.  For her the game seemed to be a vehicle to introduce new and more involved puzzles.  Heather’s games required an analytical mind and willingness to think outside the box.
  • Ronnie Cooley – Ronnie, Heather, Ray, Derek, Sam, Kris, Marilyn, and I played several different games together, but I remember Ronnie running Cyberpunk.  Ronnie’s Cyberpunk game was a mix of combat and role playing, with an emphasis on combat.  It was fun, but in the end, I was killed by my own party for reasons still unknown.
  • Michael McMillan – Michael is Davy McMillian’s cousin and he ran many AD&D games for me and his brother Barry.  He had a wild imagination.  I remember encountering an iron golem with the mind of an ancient wizard trapped within.  I had to deal with magical shrines that would improve one abilities and grant wishes, if I did the right things and would bestow curses, if I did the wrong things.  It was in Michael’s game that Gregor O’Dragon gained his friend and companion, the dragon Zuth.

Thank you all for many great games,

Game on!

2 thoughts on “Game Masters Part 2

  1. Charles’ Shadowrun game world was everything in extremes. Extreme wealth and opulence existed alongside oppressive poverty. Intractable corruption ruled everything to the point that there was no “right;” corruption was the rule, the law. Unimaginably powerful corporations owned everything and used every means to manipulate each other. Rather than being a force for good or change, PCs in his game were part of the problem – even the machinery that made corruption work. Everyone was out for their own small piece of the incalculably big pies. His game was always an indulgence, like a thick cheesecake or a rich chocolate pie; which is to say, among the most enjoyable, but too much in large quantities.

    Brandon’s game remains one of my favorite overall, for every different reasons from why I enjoy your game. Brandon’s game always had developed story elements and a running plot, but these were often set pieces for extraordinarily challenging, often large-scale combats that tested the limits of players’ character building and tactical capabilities. Characters had to be built as effectively and powerfully as possible. Role playing was an activity or a skin, something one did with their completed character and not something to affect the build. A game like that is intellectually challenging on a whole other level – planning, tactics, and build are everything. In Brandon’s most recent campaign he employed various changes to try to alter that dynamic, but unfortunately his group kind of disintegrated and his ability to commit his own time has waned.

    Your own game is intellectually challenging in a completely different way. In some ways it’s like trying to catch all the movie references in a Tarantino film. Everything is built on something else, layers on layers.

    Like

    • I’m glad you reminded of Charles’ and Brandon’s games. They were amazingly fun games. I never felt that I was very good in Brandon’s games, but I did have fun. Istari stealing the big magic doodad and turning on the party was one of my happiest deaths in “Shadowrun.”

      Thank you for the kind words about my game. It is nice to know that it is fun and challenging. Hope to run it for many more years to come.

      Like

Leave a Reply

