“Sunshine on my Shoulder Makes me Happy!”

Image

 This is a nice bit of happy.  Epic Heroes nominated me for a Sunshine Award, now it is not a Pulitzer, but in many ways it is better.  It is an opportunity to help others find new cool things in the blogshere.  Thank you, Tony Powers.  Here’s how it works.

1) Use the logo above in the post.

2) Link to whoever nominated you.

3) Write ten pieces of information about yourself.

4) Nominate ten fellow bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere.”

5) Leave a comment on the nominees’ blogs to tell them of the award.

Now, we come to ten pieces of info about me:

1. I started gaming on wet, Sunday afternoon in March of 1979; I was 15.

2. My world did not have a name until my players asked me, “What world are we playing in?”

3. My first dungeon was called Lungold, the Underground City of Wizards.  I got the name from Patricia McKillup’s trilogy Riddle of Stars.

4. Even though I was originally very excited about 2nd Edition Advanced Dungeons and Dragons, I did not switch over to 2E for 4 years and I only did it then, because none of my new players had 1st edition books.

5. I switched to 3E the day it was released.

6. I like to change the spelling of my game world every time I run a new campaign.  It is always pronounced “RIL-more-in,” but can be spelt multiple ways in the same document.

7. Relmorrin has a 26 hour day, because I was being contrary.  I wanted my players to “get” that their characters were not on Earth, so I told them that Rilmorn has 2 suns, 3 moons, and a 26 hour day.

8. I am very disappointed in 4E.  All the powers seem to blend together and it there is very little to distinguish a “mage” from a “fighter,” a “fighter” from a “rogue,” etc.

9. I have run games in Rilmorin under each of the following rule sets: Basic Dungeons and Dragons, Advanced Dungeons and Dragons (AD&D or 1E), Advanced Dungeons and Dragons: Second Edition (2E), Dungeons and Dragons: Third Edition (3E), Dungeons and Dragons: Fourth Edition (4E), and DnD Next.

10. I started this blog, because my wife thought I should have a forum to just talk about gaming and my world.

Here are my 10 nominees:

1. Frülingskabine Micro-Farm – Sarah was the inspiration that started my wife, Christina, blogging.  I, personally, think she’s a hobbit.

2. Coven Tree Micro Farm – My wife’s blog.

3. The Games Librarian – A great blogger with a vast array of role playing games, who posts great reviews and dissections of game systems, adventures, and adventure paths. (2014.06.14)

4. Inside the Shadowbox – Matt Harris is a passionate Gamer and Game Master, who also writes some astounding fiction. (2014.06.14)

…Sad thing is: I just started this game and the only other bloggers I know have already gotten this award.  I may try to add more later. Game On!

6 thoughts on ““Sunshine on my Shoulder Makes me Happy!”

  1. It’s always awesome to know I have something in common with the table top generation before me. I too feel your pain with 4e, but I brought a lot of people into the community through it. I now look at it as the gateway edition. Basic and easy enough to get people into the real editions! xD

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogs of Valor (or People With Whom I Agree) | World Engineer

  3. Pingback: Shameless Self Promotion (or Yet, Another Lame Non-Gaming Post) | World Engineer

  4. Patricia McKillip is for me who Andre Norton is for you, not just her Riddlemaster of Hed trilogy, but all of her work. One of those authors you either love or hate it seems.

    D.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve only read the “Riddlemaster of Hed” trilogy and the “Forgotten Beasts of Eld” by Miss McKillip. I love them both and have tried many times over the years to figure out away to put the Blammor story line into a game, but have not yet succeeded. She is a great writer and I think Hed and Eldwold are great templates for game worlds. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

